LibGuides: Communication Studies: Find Sources

Find Sources

Features of Journal Articles:

Also known as peer-reviewed or academic articles, they are written by experts and/or highly trained professionals in a particular field.
The rigorous peer-review process ensures articles are vetted and fact-checked before publication.
Journal articles typically focus on a topic through a very narrow lens.

Find Journal Articles:

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Combines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communications Abstracts (formerly published by Sage).
Offers full-text content pertaining to communication studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in health sciences, social sciences and humanities, materials sciences and engineering, and life and biomedical sciences.
Sage
truncation *
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations and/or summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports for psychology and related disciplines from nearly 2500 journals,
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, & conference papers for disciplines including sociology, anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social psych. 1908 - present.
truncation *
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Artstor is now part of JSTOR. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASU indexes peer-reviewed journals, newspapers, magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1887 - present.
Also includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present and helps round out student research

Features of Scholarly Books:

Due to the length, they typically cover a topic more broadly than journal articles.
They are typically written for a larger audience than journal articles.
They may contain a collection of related chapters by different authors.

Important Note: In most cases you'll only use a chapter or two for your research so don't be scared off by the length of a book.

Find Books:

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for materials in the Bloomsburg, Lock Haven, and Mansfield libraries plus online books, online media, and government publications.

Websites:

National Communication Association
The National Communication Association advances Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media, and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific, and aesthetic inquiry.
Public Relations Student Society of America
Founded in 1967, the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) is the foremost organization for students interested in public relations and communications. We advocate rigorous academic standards for public relations education, the highest ethical principles and diversity in the profession.
Center for Nonverbal Studies
The Center for Nonverbal Studies (CNS) is a private, nonprofit research center located in Spokane, Washington. Underway since October 1, 1997, the Center's mission is to advance the study of human communication in all its forms apart from language. The Center's goal is to promote the scientific study of nonverbal communication , which includes body movement, gesture, facial expression, adornment and fashion, architecture, mass media, and consumer-product design.
American Communication Association
ACA is committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research and criticism, and to offering a technologically supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate.
USA.gov
The USAGov program creates and organizes timely, needed government information and services and makes them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice.

Find Statistics and Data:

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Gallup
Gallup is "a global analytics and advice firm that helps leaders and organizations solve their most pressing problems." Gallup is perhaps best known for its public opinion polling. Use the search icon to find polling information on a wide range of topics.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
USA.gov
The USAGov program creates and organizes timely, needed government information and services and makes them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice.

Features of News Articles:

Written by journalists and typically reviewed by one or more editors.
Can provide in the moment coverage of current events.
Written for a broad audience.

Find News Articles:

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for 40+ national (U.S.) and international newspapers,full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
More than 15,000 news, legal and business sources.
News, legal and business sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives Visit their Help page or their Training and Support page.

Search Everything

Search Everything is the library's equivalent to Google. In addition to searching everything in the Library's Catalog (books, ebooks, media, etc.) it also searches most of our databases containing journal articles and other electronic resources.

University Libraries

Communication Studies

Librarian