LibGuides: Art & Art History: Find Sources

Find Sources

Features of Journal Articles:

Also known as peer-reviewed or academic articles, they are written by experts and/or highly trained professionals in a particular field.
The rigorous peer-review process ensures articles are vetted and fact-checked before publication.
Journal articles typically focus on a topic through a very narrow lens.

Find Journal Articles:

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Provides access to full-text journals, full-text books, and images.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is a searchable repository of million images covering the arts, architecture, humanities, as well as the social and natural sciences.
NOTE: High resolution images can be viewed online but cannot be downloaded.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly U. S. and Canadian history journals, with full-text coverage for nearly 290 journals and more than 100 books.
Good source for book and media reviews and dissertation information. 1955 - present
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database of the world's scholarly literature in history (except U. S. & Canada) and related fields.
Indexes articles from more than 1,800 journals, and provides access to 349 full text journals and more than 120 full text books.

Features of Scholarly Books:

Due to the length, they typically cover a topic more broadly than journal articles.
They are typically written for a larger audience than journal articles.
They may contain a collection of related chapters by different authors.

Important Note: In most cases you'll only use a chapter or two for your research so don't be scared off by the length of a book.

Find Books:

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for materials in the Bloomsburg, Lock Haven, and Mansfield libraries plus online books, online media, and government publications.

Websites:

Art Cyclopedia
This source culls together information and images of artist's work online and notes image use policies of some of the links included for each artist. An excellent tool to discover information about artists from different websites including from museums, galleries, image databases, and from the art market.
Art History Teaching Resources
Art History Teaching Resources (AHTR)
is a peer-populated platform for art history teachers. AHTR is home to a constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities.
Getty Research Institute Search Tools and Databases
The Getty Research Portal is a free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. Contains some open access and public domain images.
Smarthistory
Smarthistory’s free, award-winning digital content unlocks the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other provider.

Find Statistics and Data:

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Features of News Articles:

Written by journalists and typically reviewed by one or more editors.
Can provide in the moment coverage of current events.
Written for a broad audience.

Find News Articles:

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for 40+ national (U.S.) and international newspapers,full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
New York Times (Account Activation) This link opens in a new window
Use this link to activate your New York Times online subscription. Once created, you can access nytimes.com directly on the web or mobile app. Includes breaking news, multimedia, opinion, blogs, videos and more.
NOTE: Create your account using your university email.
Includes access to archived articles between 1851-2002 (5 pdf downloads per day per user)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
More than 15,000 news, legal and business sources.
News, legal and business sources, including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts; newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives Visit their Help page or their Training and Support page.

Search Everything

Search Everything is the library's equivalent to Google. In addition to searching everything in the Library's Catalog (books, ebooks, media, etc.) it also searches most of our databases containing journal articles and other electronic resources.

University Libraries

Art & Art History

Librarian