LibGuides: Education: Find Sources

Find Sources

Features of Journal Articles:

Also known as peer-reviewed or academic articles, they are written by experts and/or highly trained professionals in a particular field.
The rigorous peer-review process ensures articles are vetted and fact-checked before publication.
Journal articles typically focus on a topic through a very narrow lens.

Find Education Journal Articles:

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text from journals and books on early childhood to higher education, plus educational specialties like multilingual education, health education, and testing. Also includes education related conference papers.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Currently indexes and abstracts over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines. Includes full-text for many of the publications.
truncation *

Related Databases:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Our largest interdisciplinary database, ASU indexes peer-reviewed journals, newspapers, magazines, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1887 - present.
Also includes more than 74,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present and helps round out student research
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Artstor is now part of JSTOR. Recent issues of most journals are embargoed.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of over 300 full text academic press journals covering literature, history, the arts, education, philosophy, political science and more.
truncation *

Features of Scholarly Books:

Due to the length, they typically cover a topic more broadly than journal articles.
They are typically written for a larger audience than journal articles.
They may contain a collection of related chapters by different authors.

Important Note: In most cases you'll only use a chapter or two for your research so don't be scared off by the length of a book.

Find Books:

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for materials in the Bloomsburg, Lock Haven, and Mansfield libraries plus online books, online media, and government publications.

Websites:

Pennsylvania:

Pennsylvania Department of Education
The executive department of the state charged with K-12 and adult educational budgeting, management, and guidelines. Provides links to many resources such as: academic standards, teacher certification, state school/education statistics, etc.
Pennsylvania Standards Aligned System
From the Pennyslvania Department of Education, standards-based resources to support student achievement, such as academic standards, interventions, curriculum framework, aligned instruction activities, as well as materials and resources.

National:

U.S. Department of Education
Cabinet-level department of the U.S. government charged with creating programs to generate funds for education and enforcement of privacy and civil rights laws. Many education resources including: statistics, research, teacher resources, etc.
National Education Association
The largest U.S. professional organization and labor union representing educators. Provides links to many valuable education resources.
National Institute of Early Education Research
Conducts and communicates research to support high quality, effective, early childhood education for all young children. Provides news, data, research reports, policy briefs, etc.

Find Statistics and Data:

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal agency responsible for the collection, analysis and reporting of data related to education in the United States.
Kids Count Data Center
Kids Count is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation to track the well-being of children in the United States. Provides national and state-by-state information broken down by demographics, economic, family and community, health, and safety and risky behaviors indicators.

K-12 Databases:

Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of over 70 children's magazines, Lexile reading levels included for all full text articles. Over 100 children's pamphlets and over 100,000 images of photos, maps, and flags. 1990 - present.
Explora - Primary School Edition This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s search tool designed just for students in kindergarten through grade 5. Explora contains complete articles from dozens of the most popular elementary school magazines, encyclopedia entries written just for kids, and more than one million images of photos, maps and flags.
Explora - Secondary School Edition This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's database for middle school and high school students. Provides hundreds of popular magazines and reference books, plus thousands of biographies and primary source documents. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.

Search Everything

Search Everything is the library's equivalent to Google. In addition to searching everything in the Library's Catalog (books, ebooks, media, etc.) it also searches most of our databases containing journal articles and other electronic resources.

University Libraries

Education

Librarian