LibGuides: Transfer Student Resources: Finding a Topic

Brainstorming Your Topic

As you get started on your research, it can be hard to either narrow down or broaden your topic.

Outlining your ideas on paper can help organize your paper.

You're also welcome to use this brainstorming worksheet, put together by one of our librarians:

Brainstorming Worksheet

Finding Different Viewpoints/Opinions/Perspectives

Need to find different viewpoints/opinions/perspectives for your paper?

Not sure where to start?

Both of these databases provide detailed descriptions of the different sides of a variety of "hot" or controversial topics:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Search for current and controversial topics. Useful for developing arguments, writing position papers, and development of critical thinking skills.
truncation *

Encyclopedia Entries

These two databases contain many different encyclopedias across a variety of subjects/disciplines that can help you learn more about the topics you're thinking about:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of online encyclopedias on a variety of topics and subjects. Formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library.
truncation *
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Wide range of ebook content including: scholarly books, handbooks, encyclopedias, professional development titles, textbooks, and the major works series.
Limit to "Content Available to Me" on the results page.

Dictionaries & Thesauri

The Oxford English Dictionary doesn't just give you the definition of a word, it also gives you a look into the history and different uses of the word over time, which might be helpful for your research:

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Oxford English Dictionary, the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Includes word histories, taxonomies, and sources of definitions, and is searchable by a number of categories of definitions.
truncation *

You might also consider taking a look at these websites: